Clinical Leadership

Mount Sinai Clinical Leadership

At Mount Sinai South Nassau, our clinical leaders and their departments work diligently to ensure your safety, comfort and satisfaction.


Alan Sim, MD
Department Chair

Emergency Medicine

Jay Itzkowitz, MD
Department Chair

Lincoln Ferguson, MD
Chief of Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Family Practice

Samuel Sandowski, MD
Department Chair; Vice President, Medical Education

Clinical Laboratories and Pathology

Steven Drexler, MD
Department Chair, Interim


Aaron E. Glatt, MD
Department Chair; Chief, Infectious Diseases

Raul Mendoza, MD
Associate Chair of Medicine, Physician-in-Charge, Critical Care Unit

Lawrence Kanner, MD
Department Chair, Cardiology; Director of Electrophysiology/Arrhythmia Services

Jason Freeman, MD
Director of Interventional Cardiology

Jonathan Altus, MD
Chief of Pulmonary Medicine

Frank Coletta, MD
Chief, Critical Care; Associate Director, Sleep Center

Louis Saffran, MD
Associate Chief, Critical Care; Director, Sleep Center

Stanley Goldstein, MD

Chief, Allergy / Immunology

Russell Cohen, MD
Chief of Dermatology

Effie Tsomos, MD
Chief of Endocrinology

Jonathan Zinberg, MD
Associate Chief, Gastroenterology

Louis Swartz, MD
Chief of Nephrology

Frank Gress, MD
Chief, Gastroenterology / Director, GI Fellowship Program

Clifford Feiner, DO

Chief, Geriatrics

Stephen Kadish, MD
Associate Chief, GI Endoscopy, General

Richard M. Lee, MD
Chief, Hematology / Oncology

Ricardo Cruz, MD
Chief, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Stuart Kaplan, MD
Chief, Rheumatology

John Ioannou, MD
Director of Outpatient Dialysis

Michael Sood, MD
Director, Non-Invasive Cardiology

Hai-Wen Ma, MD
Chief, Hospitalist Services / Associate Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program

Cheriyan Thomas, MD
Associate Chief, Hospitalist Services

Steven Weiss, MD

Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program

Yelena Markovskaya, MD
Medical Advisor, Antimicrobial Stewardship Program / Infectious Diseases

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Alan Garely, MD
Chair of Obstetrics & Gynecology; Director of Urogynecology

Edmund Tomlinson, MD
Vice Chair of Obstetrics & Gynecology; Chief of Obstetrics

Robert Dean, MD
Coordinator for Medical Student Education

Dina El Kady, MD
Chief of Maternal Fetal Medicine

Ira Bachman, MD
Director of Gynecology

Ann Buhl, MD
Director of Gynecologic Oncology

Claudia Ravins, MD
Director of Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery

Salma Rahimi, MD
Director of Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program

Frederic Moon, DO
Director of Family Medicine Center for Ob/Gyn


Lincoln Ferguson, MD

Department Chair

Psychiatry & Behavioral Health

Felix Sterling, MD
Department Chair, Interim


Matthew Rifkin, MD
Department Chair

Michael Brisman, MD
Chief of Surgical Neuro-Oncology; Co-Director, Gamma Knife


Rajiv Datta, MD
Department Chair; Director of the Gertrude & Louis Feil Cancer Center; Director of Surgical Oncology/Head & Neck

Kenneth Becker, MD
Director of General Surgery

Eric Seitelman, MD
Program Director General Surgery

Christine Hodyl, DO
Director of Breast Services

Dean Pappas, MD
Chief of Colon & Rectal Surgery

Rajeev Vohra, MD 
Director of Minimally Invasive & Bariatric Surgery

Stephen Onesti, MD
Director of Neurosurgery

Richard Nauheim, MD
Director of Ophthalmology

Robert Licul, DDS
Director of Oral Surgery

Rajesh Kakani, MD
Director of Otolaryngology

Stelios Koutsoumbelis, MD

Chief of Orthopedic Surgery

Juan Goez, DPM
Director of Podiatry, Orthopedic Surgery

George Xipoleas, MD
Director of Plastic Surgery

Foula Kontonicolas, MD

Director, Surgical Critical Care

Shahriyour Andaz, MD
Director, Thoracic Surgery and Clinical Research

Vanessa Gibson, MD
Director, Thoracic Oncology

James Maurer, MD
Trauma Medical Director

Michael Herman, MD
Director of Urology

Daniel McCally, MD
Assistant Director of Urology

Harmandeep Singh, MD
Director, Vascular and Endovascular Surgery

Charles C. Sticco, DO
Director, Wound Care Center

Ganesh Gunasekaran, MD
Director, Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary (HPB) Service

Advisory Board

Advisory Board

Mount Sinai South Nassau's Advisory Board is comprised of a diverse and representative...

Read More

Administrative Team

Administrative Team

Mount Sinai South Nassau’s exceptional team of health care professionals is committed to...

Read More

Clinical Leadership

Clinical Leadership

At Mount Sinai South Nassau, our clinical leaders and their departments work diligently to ensure...

Read More